95


“There can be no keener revelation of a society’s soul than the way it treats its children.”

“If you want to make peace with your enemy, you have to work with your enemy. Then he becomes your partner.”

“We can’t afford to be killing one another.

“No one is born hating another person because of the color of his skin. Or his background. Or his religion. People must learn to hate. And if they can learn to hate, they can be taught to love, for love comes more naturally to the human heart than its opposite.”

I was in 3rd grade, living in New Mexico on the day you were set free. My teacher told us about your life, answered our questions about apartheid, and I watched news coverage that afternoon of you walking out of jail: FREE.

My heart has always been in awe of you since that day, and on your 95th birthday, I find the words I’ve read in your books and speeches rising up to breathe hope into my heart once more.

Hope for freedom of all peoples.

Hope for my sons and all brown boys growing up here in America.

Hope for Martin’s dream.

Hope that the world will not forget you, your legacy, and what you stood and fought for when it comes time for you to finally leave us to carry on the work you started here on Earth.

Happy Birthday Madiba. May your light forever lead us in the fight for equality and compel us to serve our fellow man.

20130718-220115.jpg

3 thoughts on “95

  1. Amen!

    I had to look up Madiba, because I knew who you were talking about, but I didn’t know his clan name. Our church in South Africa has really broken through the remaining whispers of apartheid and that brings me so much joy.

Leave a Reply

