Self-Love Saturday: Developing & Maintaining Confidence…Keep Your Head Up!


Having confidence in myself has been a life long struggle for me.

No surprise considering how abusive my childhood and teen years were.

The environment I lived in just wasn’t conducive for a healthy dose of self-confidence to be grown and cultivated.

One way this has impacted me as an adult is that I walk with my head down and have a hard time looking people in the eye.  Even if my head happens to be up as I’m walking around my campus or down the street, it goes down as soon as I see someone approaching…it sinks lower and lower the closer they get until they pass me by.

I didn’t even take notice of this habit until about a year ago. A friend of mine who’s a therapist pointed it out and suggested I work on changing it. Breaking out of old habits to develop new ones isn’t easy, but I’ve found that walking with my head up has become easier as I’ve gotten more comfortable with who I am over the past few months.

This week I realized I was starting to slip back into my old habit, and since it’s not reflective of  how I’m feeling about myself these days, I made a concentrated effort to ensure I walked with my head held high and looked others in the eye with a smile as I went to and fro on campus, at Brennan’s daycare, walking down the street, running in the park….and guess what? It felt good and gave me even more confidence each time I did.

Like I always say, this self-love and acceptance journey isn’t easy, but I’m learning the rewards are so worth having and keeping in my life.

If you’re like me and need help walking with your head up in  spite of how you feel or what’s going on in your life, may I suggest singing and dancing to this song?

It’s been on repeat in my head and on my iPod for the past two weeks….and it definitely helps 🙂

So what about you? Do you have a habit good or bad that reflects how you feel about yourself? What do you think it says about you and how you feel about yourself? How do you cultivate confidence in yourself and even your kids? 

6 thoughts on “Self-Love Saturday: Developing & Maintaining Confidence…Keep Your Head Up!

  1. i do the same thing! i never know what to do when i pass people, should i look them in the eye and say hello?? it’s so awkward for me!

  2. I spent my childhood and teenage years not liking myself very much. It wan’t until my mud 30s that I became content with who I am. Thanks to finding things I truly enjoyed and was good at doing. Once in a while even today my self esteem issues threaten to bring me down but then I tell those voices to shut the hell up…I didn’t make it this far for nothing!

  3. Pingback: How To Be Confident When | welcome to faltu4u.com

  4. Pingback: How To Develop Self Confidence Want Even More Self Confidence? | welcome to faltu4u.com

Leave a Reply

