Weekend Reading: Leisure Reading? What’s That?!


I can’t begin to tell you how good it felt to wake up this morning and not have a near panic attack that tomorrow is Monday. I’m currently on Fall Break from school so that means no classes tomorrow or Tuesday for this mama. To be honest, I really only get one day because

  • the weekend doesn’t count (those are always “breaks”)
  •  I only take classes on Mondays, Wednesdays & Fridays
  • Alex is home with me on Tuesdays & Thursdays
So, that all adds up to me really only having ONE day off, but I’ll take it! One day with both boys in school is still a whole day of peace & quiet, so I’ll take what I can get 🙂
So what do I plan to do on my ONE day off? R-E-A-D. Why? Because I am a nerd & a bookworm. I adore reading. Problem is, I just haven’t had time for leisure reading the past 7 weeks. I barely have time to read ya’lls amazing blog posts, let alone the books sitting on my shelves. Instead of reading books I WANT to read, like this
I’ve been reading books for class like this
(There’s also a GIGANTIC “Western Literature” behemoth that should be in the above picture,but it’s out in my car, and I’m too lazy to go grab it….besides it’s a BEHEMOTH, meaning it’s heavy and a beast to lug around. )
Papers, projects & midterms, epic literature (think The Aeneid & Homer) OH MY! The past 7 weeks have been insane but somehow manageable. I haven’t had much time to devote to blogging, reading posts, dancing, & leisure reading, BUT I’m hoping to devote some time to that the rest of today & tomorrow. I’m also hoping I get better at managing my time by developing a routine that allows for time to read what I want, and not just what I have to.
How do you squeeze in leisure reading? Does having a tablet help? I just got an iPad 2-anything worth reading I should put on it? Let me know!
this post is part of  James & Jax’s Weekend Reading BlogHop. To read more about the BlogHop, what she’s reading, & what others are linking up, pay her a visit….reading something interesting? Write about it & link up with her!
5 thoughts on “Weekend Reading: Leisure Reading? What’s That?!

  1. Not a fan of tablets for reading. Where’s the fun in flipping pages and smelling book smell?
    I’m reading an Unquiet Mind. It’s a memoir about an actual psychologist who turned bipolar.
    I’ve only managaed a few pages. My head is racing so fast.

  2. as a bookworm, I have to agree with you on the fun in flipping pages & smelling book smell 🙂 the techie in me likes audiobooks or reading books on a device though lol. go figure.

    I’m going to have to add that to my reading list. Last month, I managed to read Not Otherwise Specified by Leah Peterson Crawford (@leahpeah on Twitter). She suffered from DID/multiple personalities and recovered. Her story is slightly triggering but POWERFUL. So much so that I couldn’t put it down-I stayed up the first night & read the whole thing. She tells her story from each personality’s point of view, including her own, and her journey to recovery. It’s freakin amazing & heartwrenching. It left me inspired, encouraged, but also in a space because it made my head and emotions race. It helped me admit somethings to myself & my therapist.

    Take your time-be kind to yourself as you read the book you mentioned. Take it at a pace you can manage, because reading things like this ARE triggering. So don’t rush it. Allow yourself to absorb what you’re reading & ask yourself any questions that come up in your gut.

    Want me to read it with you?

  3. Hi gals. Kim, I’ve heard a lot about Unquiet Mind over the years. You should link up when you’re done so you can tell us if it lived up to the hype!
    A’Driane, hooray for days off, well DAY off in this case. Enjoy it. Reading is a good way to spend it, if you ask this bookworm. I’m jealous. I can rarely find more than a half hour blip here & there to read. Usually, it’s been at night when I’m totally wiped out and can barely focus on the words anyway! Thanks so much for linking up. Hope you do it again!

  4. THere is something about the new book that makes me uber excited but I love my reader for being able to greedily carry more than one book at a time.
    Hope this semester ends soon for you and you’ll be able to carve some more reading time for yourself.
    -r

  5. I have a Kindle and when I read an actual book now? I feel like I’m cheating on him…yes him, I’ve names him Felix. I attempt to read every day. Join an online book club to force yourself into doing it? I have and you’re not committed to read all the book because we all know sometimes the choices suck.

Leave a Reply

