Why Having Kids Makes the Brain Damage Worthwhile


Scene: Driving home from an evening at the Philadelphia Art Museum with my friend & fellow students. I drop said friend off on campus and then head back to my apartment. The following conversation with Brennan transpires, who by the way has been talking nonstop about The SuperHero Squad, Sesame Place, and school the. whole. ride. home. Matter of fact it was similar to that scene from Family Guy:

Um. yea. THAT. It was just like that. It’s moments like those that make me think I’m suffering from what Bill Cosby calls “brain damage.” But then this happened:

Brennan: “Mom! Mom! MOMMIE! Mo-“

Me: “YEEES Honey Bunnie!” (new nickname that I just made up-couldn’t think of something else.)

Brennan: “You called me a HONEY BUNNIE! Who’s a HONEY BUNNIE?!” (giggling erupts)

Me: “You, Brennan-you’re my Hunnie Bunnie!”

Brennan: “Me?! (thinks for a few seconds) YEP. That’s right. I’M YOUR HONEY BUNNIE!”

Me: “Yep. You sure are.”

Brennan: “MOM!'”

Me: “WHAT?!!!!”

Brennan: ” You’re my MAMA HONEY BUNNIE!!!!!!!!!”

*stunned silence as my heart melts while sitting at the red light*

Me: ” Yes I am sweetie. I love you Bren Bren.”

Brennan: “I love you too, Mommie HONEY BUNNIE!” (more giggles)

And that, my friends is what makes the brain damage worthwhile. Gets me every time, when I least expect it.

Excuse me while I mop my melted heart from up off the floor…….

4 thoughts on “Why Having Kids Makes the Brain Damage Worthwhile

  1. love it. and i know the brain damage scene in Bill Cosby Himself that you referred to as well 🙂 I love those moments like your heart melting at the red light. #happysigh

Leave a Reply

