Sweatpant Crotch


Last week, I was watching this video my friend Susan  posted on her blog of her baby moving around in her belly. I know that sounds very alien-ish and icky, but it was absolutely adorable! It made my empty uterus feel the hollow yearnings of being pregnant and I started to feel the pangs of “Awwww, I miss being pre-” I hadn’t even got the sentence out of my mouth before Alex let out a wail mid-sleep and my right ovary tied itself in a boy scout knot…I took that as God snapping me back to reality & I left la la land immediately!

the almighty king of comfort

When we chatted a couple of days later, we talked about…..SWEAT PANTS! I mean we talked about other things, but we talked at length about sweatpants. About how awesome they are…how comfortable & warm they are…how easy they are to just slide on your body-there’s no tugging, inching, heaving & holding of breath to get them up & over your hips, or any of that craziness you have to go through when you want to rock a pair of jeans (let’s not even MENTION skinny jeans OK?!) Try sliding a pair of jeans on over hips that have birthed children…go head. I’ll wait…..

Now, when you’re able to pick yourself up off the floor & catch your breath, slide them back off somehow and slide into a pair of sweatpants. See & FEEL the difference?

yep, even rockin a pair from my school: PBU BABY!

Now, don’t get me wrong. I like fashion. I like to dress a certain way. I have style. It’s a nerdy, bohemian, tomboy kind of style but it’s a style…one that I’m comfortable with. I like wearing makeup, especially brightly hued eye shadows…but let’s keep it real here people.

I LOVE SWEAT PANTS.

Period. Jeans are cool, but look if I happen to be in Wal-Mart or Target and I see sweats on sale for $6-8, I’m buying 10 pair easily. In different colors. I REALLY enjoy wearing male sweats because some less-than-bright crayon in the box decided women’s sweats should be form-fitting. NO THEY SHOULDN’T! That defeats the purpose! Sweatpants can be sexy just as they are, IF you wear them appropriately. And I do. So does Susan. In fact, it was the video she posted that made her realize that she’s been wearing them alot lately….AND LOVING IT. We also both realized that in the video was a perfectly aimed shot of her….sweatpant crotch. HAHA

working on the lappy-rockin my sweats

From that moment an idea was born. We decided to try something.  As mothers, as women, there’s this pressure to always look put together, like you can do & be all. We all know that’s not the case. But I bet nearly all of our Facebook, Twitter, professionally designed blogs & About Me head shots don’t give a complete picture of who we are. I’m guilty of it! I’ll admit to only taking pictures when I think I look presentable. But let’s be honest. I have two kids under age 5 and I’m a full-time college student. I spend the majority of my time picking cheerios up off the floor, buried in homework, and chasing after my kids. And I do it in sweats and comfortable sneakers, chucks or puma’s preferably. I admire Mamas who can strut around in the latest fashions and the young girls I see coming to class looking like they H&M threw up on them. But as for this mama? I’m all about the sweats, baby, especially with fall lowering the temps & winter just around the corner!

So Susan and I are starting a revolution. All you have to do to partake is throw on your favorite pair of comfy sweats, snap a pic & post it. Tweet it, Facebook it, blog it, instagram it, whatever. Just snap away and feel liberated & supported knowing there are at least 2 other women out in the world who are letting it all hang out there with you. You aren’t alone. You are beautiful no matter what you wear. You are gorgeous & sexy. Own it regardless of your attire.

I’ve posted my #Sweatpantcrotch snaps….head over to Susan’s place to view hers & read her post…then go dig in your drawer or reach up to the top of your closet shelf, grab your sweats & show them some love…they’ve missed you.

This is what a mother of two & a full-time student looks like most of the time. Honestly. It's how I bring sexy back, people.

Let the revolution to ditch perfection & embrace acceptance begin!

I make silly faces in the mirror. Because I'm 28 going on 5 obviously. My kids dig it.

More evidence that I'm not perfect. This is what my room looks like during the week...and sometimes on the weekends. I clean...but...

4 thoughts on “Sweatpant Crotch

Leave a Reply

