Making Lemonade Without Sugar Having Joy Without a Reason


Soooooooooo as if the current pile of stress in my life couldn’t get any heavier or wackier, it just did this morning. On the first day of a very crucial “I’m praying and hoping things I need to work out, work out” kind of week. The day after God told me, “Hey, I got this-just do what you can and I’ll do the rest. No worries. Just trust me kid.” The day after a much needed 2 day break from my boys that left me feeling relaxed, and ready to get back in the ring.

And then….another ingredient was added to the stew, another brick on the load added to see if I’m going to let the pot boil over, or buckle under the weight. Well guess what, LIFE? I’M NOT. (And yes, my hands are on my hips and I’m sticking my tongue out at you)

I have no internet so I can’t work, no car so I can’t drive, and the little money I have is for emergencies, not fun. The Earth and the Sun have launched their evil plan to scorch and choke us to death with heat and humidity, so going outside might not be an option. And I’m moving this weekend.

That’s a lot of lemons folks. Enough to make your mouth pucker. But I vowed to myself that the boys and I were going to have a good summer, one that we enjoyed before I got back into the full-time student grind this fall. It hasn’t gone the way I planned or thought it would, it hasn’t been what I expected. But I see how through it all He’s been teaching me the difference between happiness and being joyful, and how to pursue the latter inspite of the circumstances.

So, I’m just going to take this latest round of events as a chance to just take a little vacation and focus on joy. A vacation. In my apartment. From everything. No internet & no Facebook, Google +, & Twitter on the Blackberry. Not even the Bible on my Blackberry. Not even blogging. Maybe a phone call, maybe a text here or there, but that’s it. I’m going to spend the week finding a way to keep two wild boys occupied, writing/journaling, reading, building forts, coloring and creating some meals on a serious shoestring budget.

I’m going to make the best tasting lemonade EVER this week. It won’t be easy to sweeten without any sugar, but I’m sure He’ll show me a way. So, I hope you all enJOY your week, try your best to keep the heat from evaporating you, and are productive in whatever it is you do in your corners of the world.

As for me and my house-we on vacation ya’ll. Blog you next week! 😉

“Even if the fig tree does not bloom and the vines have no grapes, even if the olive tree fails to produce and the fields yield no food, even if the sheep pen is empty and the stalls have no cattle — even then, I will be happy with the Lord. I will truly find joy in God, who saves me.” Habakkuk 3:17-18

addyeB

One thought on “Making Lemonade Without Sugar Having Joy Without a Reason

Leave a Reply

