Letting the Dust Settle Into Something Beautiful


I woke up this morning and in my mind’s eye all I saw was dust. Everywhere I looked, in every area of my life, I just saw dust, like a sandstorm had blown through my life and left a finger thick film on each piece of it.

Aside from dirtying things, dust is annoying because too much of it can make you sneeze, cough, gag…and a host of other bodily reactions I’m sure aren’t pleasant. It’s also irritating because it’s so hard to get rid of and even when you swipe it away with some pledge, it comes back not long after. You might even find that you’ve gotten rid of the dust, but the tiny little particles of material from whatever you used to clean it up with are left behind, in it’s place, seemingly immune to the cleaning agent.

So what’s my point? Simply this: You can’t get rid of dust. You can buy the best cleaning solution/furniture polish/super-microfiber rag that money can buy, but dust is always going to be there annoyingly sweeping itself back over your walls, appliances, baseboards aka YOUR LIFE. So what do you do about it? Well, as I laid in bed with Alex’s foot in my ribs and Brennan’s dragon breath scorching my cheek, I thought of this song and about how God really can make beautiful things out of anything. If He could create the Universe and every single particle & organism in it, is it really hard to believe that He can make something out of the dust in my life? The dust that makes me sneeze, that causes me pain, that makes me (or my house) look dirty, that can seem to overtake me?

Here’s the thing about dust, er LIFE. It’s always there. Causing you pain, being annoying, being difficult to get through, creating messes that are a pain or really tough to clean up….but the God who created the stars out in galaxies we haven’t even discovered yet can take the dust in your life, in my life, and use it to challenge us, stretch us, grow & develop us, even mold us into who He designed for us to be before we were even a thought in our Mama’s bellies.

So as I sat here with half my cheek melting away(4 yrs old is too young for halitosis isn’t it?) thinking about the recent dusty events & situations in my life, I heard God challenging me & my OCD to put down the dust rag….Put the pledge back in the cabinet for a second and just let Him take care of it. “I know it looks Sahara desert dusty right now, AddyeB and that is throwing your OCD into overdrive, I know you’re freaking out…but watch the wonder & beauty I create out it-watch the beautiful things I make. If I can make man out of dust, what other wonders can I create if you’ll just sit back & let me do what I do best ?”

Well God, it’s like 6am, and since my mind’s already been blown for the day I’m just going to lay here and marinate on what you just knocked me upside the head with….and watch you make beautiful things out of my dust. Just please remember to pass me a mask when you really get going-I have a feeling it’s going to get thick in here for awhile and I don’t want to choke.

Leave a Reply

