Recovering With a Smile


I’m smiling right now. I’m not really sure why, but I am. I should be crying. I should be a wreck….But I’m not. I’m smiling a little. I do feel some twinges of sadness, when I think about what I had hoped would be, but I’m not reeling from the shock and pain of it like I was before.

Strength. That’s what I felt this morning when I woke up. Quiet strength undergirding me, carrying me, making me feel stronger than I’ve felt in months. Strong like its going to be okay, I can do this, we will make it through these choppy waters, God has never failed me even when I mess up strong. Even the tears I shed a couple of times felt strong.

Acceptance. I felt acceptance.

I did feel some twinges of fear, some “OMG what am I going to do!!!” But the strength I was feeling in my gut spoke louder than the voice of fear.

And I’m smiling. Because I’ve let go. Of the ambiguity. Of the uncertainty. Of the game of hot and cold. Smiling because even though it looks grim right now, and even though it will hurt from time to time, I feel in control. Of my emotions, of my health, of my life. I haven’t felt like this in….I don’t know how long. Smiling because I’m looking at my boys and they are smiling at me, Brennan with his loving gaze and Alex with that ever present mischievious and playful glint in his eye. He climbs into my lap, Brennan starts doing one of his silly dances to the Fresh Beat Band, and I laugh. One of those deep down from the gut laughs that leaves you gasping for air. And its in that moment that strength speaks loud and clear in my head: “See? I’ve got you. All you’ve got to do is just trust Me and let my joy be your strength. You’ll get through this. ”

I don’t know why I let circumstances, situations, or mistakes I’ve made give me amnesia and forget-He will never let us go.

And so, I’m just going to keep smiling 🙂

Leave a Reply

